Wanna figure some sh*t out? Me, too!

Hey gang,

I have never been shy about my interest in “finding my way”. I am always babbling on about the metaphysical world and that we have a say in our happiness and peace; I do believe that we are in charge of our own state of being and contentedness. I’d love to blame my unrest and insecurities on my past and parents (God knows they did a rather lousy job), but the truth is, once you become an adult (18?), you really are in charge of your own destiny; Mental, physical, financial, and emotional.

I have, and will always be, in search of a deeper meaning in life. Why do we do the things we do? What crap have we got going on that stops us from finding inner happiness and peace?..and it ain’t that Coach bag, which I thought would work. Trust me, I tried. I adore mine, but it hasn’t done the trick in helping me be ok with who I am.

Some people are naturally at peace. I wish I was one of them…oh GAWD I wish I was one of them, but I’m not. I have a friend who is perfectly content with her life, her work, and who she is. She doesn’t question negative feelings because she doesn’t have them (?). She doesn’t feel any shame or guilt, nor does she have any regrets, insecurities, or self esteem issues. The woman sleeps well every night of her life completely fine with who she is, and never questions any decision she’s made, nor regrets any action she has taken. REALLY?! Sometimes I’d like to tell her to eff off out of sheer envy, but that is just her path. She’s here to live a chilled life with no burning questions or hang-ups. Ugh. Bitch.

The reason I say all this, is because I’m going to share with you a few journeys. I’m always on them (remember the Ayahuasca retreat? No? read back), because I have a yearning to understand myself. My soul. What makes me tick. Like 94% of the human population, I have uncomfortable parts of who I am…my history…why I’ve done the things I have. There are some parts of my story that give me great guilt and regret. I have not always been the person my cats thought I was. I’d certainly like to know why, but more importantly, I’d like to change some of the cruddier habits and beliefs, and head towards that peace and happiness that my friend seems to enjoy daily.

The task at hand: Tapping. Ever heard of it? I believe years ago it came out as something called Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT). The concept is the same: There are certain points (meridians) of the body that, when tapped upon, can release stress, negative feelings, and limiting beliefs. Sounds great, doesn’t it? I have heard of great success and freedom with said tapping. I’m rather excited.

So, I have signed up for a 7-week on-line course through a guy named Nick Ortner. Something about tapping your way to financial success. Don’t get me wrong, I am all about the financial aspect, but I am more interested in the nitty-gritty. Tapping really focuses in on all the ‘stuff’ that holds you back. I’d like to go to the really deep stuff that can answer a few questions for me that my regular ole memory and consciousness can’t seem to access.

I’m a week behind (horrible student), but it is a self paced thing, and I plan to catch up this week. I will update. I’ll try not to be as long-winded and drawn out as this diatribe. Promise.

Until then, lovelies.

Be well.

XO
Sam

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wanna figure some sh*t out? Me, too!

  1. Tigershire says:

    I very much look forward to your report on the tapping. I looked into EFT years ago but never got anywhere with it. I have also tried other stuff (Law of Attraction, for example) and while I had limited success with it, and understand and believe the concepts work – I just can’t seem to settle my own mind enough to give it a proper try. Ultimately I seem to have come to the conclusion that, just like with my own style of horsemanship, I take thing from a variety of sources and find the pieces that work for me and form my own thing. Good Luck to you.

    • samferris says:

      Will do. I too am all over the law of attraction thing but have a huge challenge keepiñg my thoughts in the right place. If you are ever interested in giving it another go, Pam Grout’s book ‘E Squared’ really made a difference. And ‘Three Magic Words’ by US Andersen changed my life.

  2. Good luck on your journey! I’ve always been interested in tapping.

    A lovely friend of mine is certified in “Body and Emotion Code”, and has done some amazing work for me and others! 🙂

  3. ilseklijn says:

    Hey Sam,

    Thanks for sharing. I think we are so alike. I just started this journey of self discovery too and I like it. I also think my life could be so much more intense than it is now, don’t get me wrong I’m happy with what I have, but there must be so much more about it. I believe a dream life exists, but you do have to get rid of all the crap that’s stored so deep in the body/ mind. I just started the books (thank you for pointing these out) E-Squared and Breaking the habit of being yourself and they are mind blowing. I always have to know how stuff works and why it works (or not) and these books explain it so perfectly. I’m in the middle of trying to learn how to meditate and I’m so glad you pointed me in this direction. I just had a thought of learning Reiki and I might even start tapping too 🙂

    Good luck with tapping and have fun on this journey!

    -Ilse

    • samferris says:

      Great! ‘E Squared’ is great hey? When I got the butterfly experiment the hair went up on the back of my neck. They don’t always work every time (can’t seem to get my pal across the ocean to contact me) but if you keep going, the gate opens. Her new one ‘E Cubed’ just came out. Also, a book called ‘3 magic words’ by US Andersen also changed my life. Explains in depth, the science of our power in the universe and in out lives. It’s my bible! Lol. I will update my progress.

      • ilseklijn says:

        Thanks for these other names! My problem is that I don’t really have the patience and I read so many things at the same time, because I’m so curious about what will happen, that I think I might mix it up sometimes. I just did the first chapter of E-Squared and than I rolled into the next book 😉 Thanks for letting me know that not everything might work, I need to hold on on that and than just keep having faith that it’ll show up 🙂 I’ll get the other books as well. Thanks again!

  4. kp says:

    I’ve never tried tapping but it sounds like working with Chi, Qi, ka, The Force, Magick …whateverthehell whichever culture calls it. I do Reiki and it changed my LIFE in so many ways. Whatever frees you FREES YOU. I’m so happy for you. Good Luck. 🙂

Leave a Reply

