it’s your choice

Ugh. I’m about to lose another role that I WAS SO SURE I would get. You never totally get used to that sinking, empty feeling. You get mad. Feel rejected. And question everything you did wrong and over-analyse everything and obsess about what you could have done differently.

But wait a minute…if I stop feeling entitled and sorry for myself for a minute, I didn’t LOSE the role…it wasn’t mine to begin with. I auditioned, it went well, they liked what I did, things looked good, then poof. It disappeared. For whatever reason. You know this by the time you get to my level: you can lose a role at any minute and for any reason. It has nothing to do with ability. It’s just the way it goes.

Besides, when you stop feeling sore about the way life treats you, you can get out of your way long enough to see the silver lining. I learned that when my friend Kelli died. She would have given anything for even a shitty day. She just wanted to live.

I try to remember that I am so fortunate. So are you. If you are reading this you have access to a computer/smart phone. It can’t be that bad, right? There is beauty in all parts of our life. We get so caught up in the crap we don’t get, that we don’t realize what we DO get.

How do you fix that? Live in the moment. Put yer phone down, take yer headphones off, and step away from the drama going on in your life for a moment or two. Look around at the miracles of life and what you have. The best way I can do this is walk in nature, but your place may be different. It humbles me.

Look around you and choose to see the good. Not the negative. It’s a choice. You may not have control over some of the things going on around you, but you have a choice on how you perceive them.

X0

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to it’s your choice

  1. Scoutfinch_75 says:

    Thank You for reminding me. Everyday life has really been a challenge recently and I’ve been fighting depression since my daughter died 8 years ago. But you’re right. I should be counting my blessings, looking at what I have rather than what I’ve lost. I have 3 beautiful children, I’ll never forget my Evelyn but I shouldn’t let my loss overshadow everything. Today has been a difficult day. Tomorrow, thanks to you, looks a little brighter. xx

  2. Julie says:

    I had the kind of day I’m grateful for today. Spent a couple of hours, sitting in a cafe with my daughters and a couple of their friends. Great time, a lot of laughs, all in all, a great way to spend a Wednesday afternoon. I am terrible for complaining about what I haven’t got in my life but you’re right, I should pay more attention to what I have.

  3. Heather S. says:

    When I feel this way I have to remember (although it’s difficult)…… “Be thankful for the things you have and thankful for the things you don’t.”

  4. ilseklijn says:

    That’s how I see it. Sometimes its hard to look at the bright sides of life, but I’m always try to stay positive and keep smiling, cause like you said: life is good and if it isn’t we have to make it better. No one is going to do that for us.

    Have a good day, full of positive and beautiful things πŸ˜‰

  5. kp says:

    Our choices are our power – recognizing that is an immense thing. Choosing to see the truth of that situation was probably the best thing you did that day – aside from, you know, breathing. Gold Star for sharing it with us. I know I need the perspective-inducing biff upside the head on a regular basis. I’m glad I’m not the only one. πŸ™‚

  6. Carolyn White says:

    Words to live by. I do like how you are so apt at putting words together to make such great sense and encourage us to see things differently. Maybe you should try public speaking. I’d sure go for some uplifting and changing of the perspective! πŸ™‚

  7. elena says:

    You know what I get today? I get to hold my baby girl in my arms while she sleeps. Ever see a sleeping baby…heavenly. Makes me think about what I do have and it reminds me to be thankful.

  8. You literally have no idea how much I needed to hear something like this right now. As beautiful as ever! Thank you!

  9. Laura says:

    I so needed this today! Thanks for the reminder πŸ™‚

  10. shirleyamina says:

    I have to admit that sometimes I spend too much time thinking about what I don’t have and forget about the good stuff going on. I do often have to kick myself from time to time and just look around at the fantastic people I have been blessed to meet in my life, and the beautiful places and things I have seen and remember I am very lucky.

Leave a Reply

