boob update

Coming up on a month since the reduction and I’ve had many questions, so here’s an update for those of you wondering.

Monday was 3 weeks. Saw the surgeon last week. She took all the tape off and we had a good look. They are still pretty ‘frankenbooby’ but you can see that they are starting to take shape. Lots of stitches. I thought they just popped in the side but no, incision under each ‘gal’ and up and around nipple. They are self-disolving stitches and there are no drains. Super low maint. –just gotta keep tape on the stitches (keeps scaring to a minimum) for 2-3 months and that’s it. They are super perky! I guess they do a bit of a lift. Not that I needed one, but always nice to see.

I put a bra on for the first time in a month yesterday. It was way too big. Yay! Felt great. Going bra shopping today. They couldn’t make em too small (she said it would look weird) so I got about a full C. Would have liked a B but wasn’t in the cards, but sooo much better than they were before.

Overall, it was a manageable experience. I wouldn’t say ‘fun’ but totally do-able. The pain wasn’t bad in the sense that I was not suffering. More like discomfort. Yes, they were sore and tender as hell for a lot of the time, but nothing extreme or tragic. The worse thing for me was the itch. Holyjeesusmotherofgawd. THAT was maddening, but as it turns out, we think I just had a reaction to the tape. It still bugs me but I’ve got some cream for it. My nipples also were really sore for a couple days. It’s the nerves ‘re-aquainting’ themselves with the bod, I am told.

Biggest challenge: sitting around the house for 3 weeks. You are really supposed to do limited movement for the first couple weeks. I stuck to that. Keeps scaring down. If you wanted to go back to work (minimal physical activity) you could do it easily in 2 weeks (maybe 10 days), but it was a full three weeks before I was feeling good.

Am I glad I did it? Hell yes. They were getting me down. Literally and figuratively. I will be able to run again, wear shirts with buttons, tank tops, and I’ll be able to enter a room where they are not the first thing that people notice. Totally worth the discomfort. It’s liberating. Freedom.

If you are thinking about it, I highly recommend it. In Canada, it’s covered by medical as long is you are bothered physically (ie..backache) by your lovely overgrown ‘ladies’. I waited 6 months. Best thing I ever did.

Be well.
Sam
X0

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to boob update

  1. etmuse says:

    It’s free on the NHS here in the UK if they’re ‘problematic’ in a physical or psychological manner (although you need to get a referral from your GP to qualify)

  2. Chrisie says:

    Love ya Sam! I need to stop by your blog more often. I’ve missed reading it! Glad you’re feeling better! Miss you on SPN!

  3. Anne says:

    Sam said: “I will be able to run again, wear shirts with buttons, tank tops, and I’ll be able to enter a room where they are not the first thing that people notice. Totally worth the discomfort. It’s liberating. Freedom.”

    I am WRACKED with envy and very glad it went so well for you.

    It’s not covered on the public health system here in Australia as it’s considered elective surgery by the powers that be. Elective my arse. I can barely stand up straight and I’m in pain every day and I’m hardly the only one so how is that not medical?

    Anyway, I’m whittling my weight down to the perfect size to get the right size for my frame. Like you, Sam, that will be a C cup but it will such a different world from the current J cup.

  4. kelli says:

    thank u.so much for these posts Sam. I’ve been having pains from my ladies and I was thinking about surgery and it’s nice to read what u went through. thanks a ton hun

  5. Alex says:

    It’s been such an education following your blogs on this procedure and am so glad that it has been for the most part a positive experience. I am not just a little envious as would love to be ride of the Js. All the best to you and thanks for sharing your journey.

  6. Liza180 says:

    I had a breast reduction in 2007. I went from an F to a nice full C. I’m very happy, but the recovery was very hard and my scares are awful. I had one of the best surgeons in The Minneapolis area but I had a reaction to the stitches and she seemed very unconcerned about it. Now, 6 years later, I’m still scarred with red keloids where the incision sites were. I ha e to warn new boyfriends about it before they see me and thank goodness they didn’t mind. The good news is being able to run, fit button shirts, and they stay perky even when I go up and down in weight. So I’d do it again if I had to make the choice. Hope your recovery is going well!

  7. majawidu says:

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

  8. Kari says:

    Hi Sam,

    Just wanted to say thanks for all the graphic details. Truly. I’ve been contemplating this for myself for a while – I used to love my bodacious tatas but as I’ve gotten older (only 2 years younger than you) the droop factor has made bra wearing something of an ordeal. I’m slowly saving up the money and hope to get something done before I’m 45. But I was always curious about the after. That’s the part that freaks me out!

    Thanks,
    Kari

Leave a Reply

