disappointment!

Ok. How about this week be disappointment? I’m bummed.

Emily Owens MD got cancelled yesterday. I didn’t have a big role but it was recurring and I really liked the show. Sigh. Oh well.

It’s been a slow year for film and tv in Vancouver. Normally, I’d be bumming out, but actually I’m not. I’m on this kind of ‘zen’ kick right now. A rather spiritual friend of mine came to visit recently and she got me thinking about things differently.

I could freak out and be pissed that the show ended, OR I could see it as something that was meant to be, and as an opportunity for something else. I know it’s cliche, but remember the saying, “where one window closes, another one opens…”. I’m going to choose to believe that. And live in the moment. I had to drive 100 miles today to a remote part of BC. I didn’t want to. Frankly, it was a pain in the ass…but once I got over myself, I took inventory of the beautiful scenery, the quiet, and the fact that I was lucky enough to have this meditative opportunity.

When you do that, life is great!

Look for the postive in everything. It’s there…sometimes you just have to be more creative about it.

X0
Sam

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to disappointment!

  1. Jake says:

    Wait, you’re on Emily Owens MD? I feel like a bad fan for not knowing that; now I’ll definitely be checking it out if/when it starts in Australia (if it hasn’t already). Even if it isn’t a big part, it’d be totally worth watching the show to see you on my screen again.

    As for your new outlook on life, it definitely sounds like a good one to have. And as the saying goes, some things are cliché for a reason.

  2. Tracy Brzycki says:

    I had a customer tell me on Sunday that something good would happen to me in 3 days, on Wednesday I waited and waited, but nothing. As I was crawling in to bed last nite I realized that I’d had a beautiful day with my friends, finished all my assignments at school, and came home to a beautiful daughter and 2 cats that love me, something good did happen, I saw my blessings!

  3. Rose says:

    Who determines if a show gets cancelled? Emily Owens MD was a hit with my family and friends. I think that before the execs decide to cancel a show they should take a vote from the public through the internet. There are a handful of good shows on and plenty of duds. I think we should have the last word. Maybe by circulating a petition?

  4. DJ says:

    The only reason I started watching it at the beginning is because you tweeted you were going to be on it. Not happy it was canceled as it was a cute show, but maybe you’ll end impulse with a great roll in something else. Love your new outlook, I need to try that myself.

  5. ickyemy says:

    Sorry to hear about Emily Owens! I can’t imagine if my job was just suddenly cancelled. I am inspired by your positivity (that might not be a real word). Ride that silver lining!

  6. Carolyn White says:

    Maybe the show got canceled because you have a juicy part waiting for you to be available just down the road. Yeah, let’s go with that. Good luck!

  7. msheatherk says:

    First time commenter, long time reader
    I’ve started to view my life the same way, that everything happens for a reason. The people we meet, the jobs we have -or loose. Ultimately it all seems to work out. My mom lost her job a few years back (worked for the same company for 21 years, but the recession claimed a lot of jobs within the company) and was unable to find another one for 9 months, her Aunt helped us out greatly, she finally found a job although it was a temp job, 2 years later, they didn’t renew the contract so she lost it. She’s had a few interviews, few follow ups, but no call backs – and no job. Her Aunt became seriously ill, come to find out she has a nasty cancer. With mom currently out of a job, she is able to go and be a caregiver to keep her aunt comfortable in her own home, and spend precious time with her that she would otherwise not have the opportunity due to having to work.
    Who knows what tomorrow will bring, there may be a task or job that’s falling into place for you right now. Like you said, with all the negative you have to look hard for the positive – it’s there somewhere, that’s a lesson I’m still learning.
    I look forward to your next role 😀

Leave a Reply

