here i am!

Ok, I’ve been off the blog for a while but no more. I am back on this thing weekly. Sadly, I’m learning that there is just so much stuff that people are too embarrassed or scared to talk about. Really? Well, then I’ll do it and you can chime in.

For example…had my 3rd colonoscopy on Friday. FYI-that is when a doctor goes up yer ‘anal party’ with a camera looking for cancer. We have intestinal cancer in the family so my brother and I go every two years. They find pre-cancerous polyps every year. 4 for me this year, which is up.

Yep, totally unsexy and ick. I get it. But these things save lives so I lose all ego or ickness when it comes to them. They put a 6 ft tube with a camera on it up yer ‘where-the-sun-dont-shine’. And the day before you take some nasty stuff that puts you on the throne for HOURS. Sexy? Hell no. Life saving? Hell yes. Truth is, anal/colon/intestinal cancer is nasty, painful, and has few symptoms until it’s too late.

To be honest, I don’t mind the event now. I HATE the IV (I’m vago-vasal and pass out a bit with needles) but once they put the lovely sedative in yer arm, you are off to la-la land. I don’t remember a thing. My brother watches it on a screen. You can tell yer doc how much you want. You don’t have to be awake for it if you don’t want.

The point: be responsible and get yerself checked. Mamograms at 40, colonoscopies at 45 (although many say 50, or 40 with history). These screens are here to save your life. And yes, maybe a little awkward (I signed an autograph for my doc’s daughter), but so what? It’s his/her job to go up your bum….he’s seen a million of them. I didn’t shave nor did I get to shower before said event. WHATEVER.

Yer body is a fragile little piece of machinery. Ask your family about cancer (it is incredibly genetic), and keep an eye on it. Gals, boob tests in the shower, boys, prostate is the #1 cancer. Be responsible. You are the one responsible for yourself.

Ok. What’s next week? Bullying. Not only because it’s relevant right now, but also because I was one. Tell you about it next week.

Love,

Sam

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to here i am!

  1. Allyson says:

    A lot of the times symptoms don’t hurt either! I recently went in to ask my doc a question about my breast (just a question!) and two ultrasounds, a mammogram and a ductogram later, and I’m headed into surgery next week to remove a couple growths and get a biopsy done. I’m 23. We know our bodies, and if something is different, don’t be scared to get it checked! Glad you talked about this, Sam πŸ™‚

  2. Vanessa says:

    Thanks for such an open and honest description of a colonoscopy, I have actually always wondered if they hurt. I bet you have saved lives with this post. I am going to go feel myself up now, I look forward to reading more from you.

  3. Jake says:

    Hi Sam
    I’m so glad that you’re going to be updating the blog again! And weekly, too; that’ll certainly be a treat. I think it’s great that you’re willing to talk about stuff that other people are either too proud or too embarrassed to.
    Saying that I eagerly anticipate a talk on bullying seems like kind of a poor choice of words, so I’ll just say that I am looking forward to reading your posts again in the future, regardless of the content!

  4. ammie westfall says:

    Hey lady excellent blog! will be celebrating my 42nd birthday this coming Sunday… yep fellow Scorpio lol…. anyway these tests are important I agree completely. and for some reason us women don’t think it’s pretty to talk about. you are correct what’s not pretty is losing your life to something that you could have stopped. my older sister discovered precancerous polyps at 40 so naturally I had to get checked out early. I’m in great shape for 41 year old single mom gfvbcvv
    but we gotta stay on top of mend you for being open about it and now maybe other cool awesome adventurous excellent

  5. DJPeck says:

    You left out rectal cancer. My mother had colo-rectal cancer. She only told the doc when she “couldn’t go” anymore. She never mentioned any of the symptoms to anyone.
    She had a great doc who was able to get all of the rectal cancer and what he thought was all of the colon cancer. She wouldn’t go for her 6 month or her 1 yr check saying if it was going to come back it would whether she had the check ups or not. That time around she had much more aggressive colon cancer cells and she had to have a colonoscopy. Her doc at UCLA told her if she would have had the colonoscopy check ups, they would have the cancer when it was still located in polyps. This was over 28 yrs ago, and ladies just did not talk about such personal things. I have IBS issues so I had my first colonoscopy when I was 19. A colonoscopy regularly is a small price to pay to not go through surgery, radiation and chemo.
    Thanks for bringing this topic up. It always amazes me when people won’t talk about or have a colonoscopy done because it’s just too gross. Maybe they should see what a colostomy and illiostomy is like and then learn about living with one for the rest of their lives.

  6. jschnedler says:

    Thanks for coming back Sam, have missed you!

  7. Mustangannie73 says:

    Thanks Samantha for writing about something so unsexy but soooooooo important! Had a cancer scare last October:ovaries but everything is cool now.They discovered them through routine gp check up.Thank God for our Canadian health care system!!!
    Can’t wait for next week’s blog.I was a bully too and have been a high school teacher for 20 years now and am VERY sensitive with bullying-ironic eh?!
    Keep up the great writing,always a blast to read you!

  8. First, I’m glad you’re in good health πŸ™‚ My mother has polyps every once in a while. Painless removal. I plan on getting checked maybe even before 40 because I’ve always been suspicious of my intestines. My gut and I are not friendly lol

    People unfortunately are afraid to talk about most medical things, though really talking about it is the best thing to do. I guess most people don’t see it this way, but I find if I can’t discuss being sick or having a procedure done with friends, there’s no way I’m going to be able to talk to my doctors. So good on you!

  9. Nathalia says:

    My mom was diagnosed with a rare and pretty much fatal breast cancer last year; after several chemo and radio sessions, she is cancer free now – but it doesn’t mean that she can stop doing routine tests. It was discovered after a routine mammogram and it was caught at the beginning, thanks God. Her doctor asked for a colonoscopy and she said she’s embarrassed and damn, why? I know, it’s uncomfortable but she needs it.

    I think that people need to stop being oh so prudy and be more conscious about their bodies. I’m 31, I already have to go through mammograms and I’m not ashamed, I had tubes shoved down my mouth because of a possibility of stomach cancer when I was 15; a colonoscopy when I was 9 and honestly, not ashamed. It has saved my life and I don’t want to die so soon.

    And you, lady, take care. ❀

  10. Amanda Wright says:

    Hey Sam, I think it’s wonderful that you have this blog. I had my first colonoscopy when I was 24 due to some bleeding and the doctor removed 3 polyps that he said were the kind that come back every few years and not the kind that are removed and you don’t have to worry about it any more. So now I’m 34 and I get a colonoscopy every few years, plus colon and bowels problems run in my dad’s side of the family. Also, I loved you as Ellen in Supernatural!!!

  11. ickyemy says:

    I’m sorry, did you say a 6 foot hose!? Please god let them come out with better screening procedures in the next twelve years! I am going to start a scholarship fund for people who want to study non invasive colonoscopy advancement. Can you imagine what that experience would be like for someone who has been sexually abused?

  12. Cherylyn says:

    Aaaaannnd she’s back, ladies and gentlemen!

    πŸ˜‰

    Thank you for the insight into my medical future; who says there aren’t any advantages to living fast and dying young. πŸ˜› Seriously though, as much as I don’t enjoy the prospect of turning my boobs into pancakes on freezing cold metal surfaces, or having pipes-in-my-pipes, I *do* appreciate the fact that these little ‘procedures’ can save my life. And my ass. Mostly my ass.

    *grin*

  13. Alesha says:

    Not so great, @ickyemy.

    Thanks for the post, Sam! Your blog posts always make my day, in one way or another. I had no idea what vasovagal was before reading this post. That must make any serious doc appointments craptastic.

    How is school going?

  14. Mary says:

    Sam as always you illuminate beautifully.
    Love kisses and a clean bum!
    MC

  15. April G. says:

    Preach it! As someone that works in the healthcare industry I am a huge advocate for patient rights. I don’t think a lot of folks realize that just because your doctor doesn’t order a test doesn’t mean you don’t need it to be done. Things get overlooked. Symptoms don’t always get noticed by patient or physician. If you have a history of -anything- in your family, tell your doctor–regardless of what side of the family it comes from or how far back it goes. Tell them. It is important. Also, if you just feel like you want to have a particular test done (eg, a colonoscopy or a mammogram, etc) then tell them! You have that right to ask for it. And if they don’t respond well to your request, it’s simple–find another doctor.

    Take care of your body by standing up for yourself. Report any and all symptoms, as soon as they occur, no matter how small or inconsequential they may seem. It may turn out to be nothing but it’s better to be safe than sorry.

  16. Genevieve says:

    My uncle died of colon cancer last winter. He had no symptoms until he was already in the late stage which scared all of us into keeping on top of our own appointments. My family has a history of colon cancer and IBD (which comes on in the early 20s), so we’ve all resigned ourselves to frequent colonoscopies and scopes starting at a very early age. Not pretty or fun, but it keeps you healthy, and at least you’re knocked out for the procedure. I always get the lucid anesthetic – where you respond to all their commands but don’t remember a thing past the injection – since my stomach doesn’t handle full anesthesia well. It’s very creepy, and you feel like you are part of a futuristic sci-fi show with memory wiping, but it’s better than being awake!

    I’m glad to hear you and your brother take it seriously! Stay healthy!

  17. Godskillerkiwi says:

    Thank you Samantha. My father-in-law was just diagnosed with stage three colon cancer. He kept going to doctors for a year..no one listened. He’s a fighter, but he should have gotten the colonoscopy earlier. I’m grateful you know your history and don’t wimp out. I’m 45 and should get one too.

  18. Melissa Cruz says:

    I have sooo much respect for you. Not many people will talk about cancer, prevention and the bravery it takes to have a colonoscopy done. As you say, it shouldn’t be embarrasing, these doctors see the inside of bums every year. Yearly, bi-yearly checks saves lives. Someone like me who has no clue about family history had to have a mammorgram before I was 40 to get a base line. Time to kick all cancer’s butt at the moment. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for your honesty! Can’t wait to see the next blog about bullying, both my daughters have been victims of it.

Leave a Reply

